Snap, Crackle, Pop

Yesterday I heard something I’ve never heard before.  I actually never knew there was a sound associated with this activity at all.  It’s not like a mosquito or fly buzzing…both things that I know make noise but I’ve never actually heard.  This is something I just always assumed was silent.

It was…bubbles popping.  Every now and then Dave will pull out the bottle of bubbles and blow bubbles for the cats.  Some of them just like to watch the bubbles floating down, some like to pounce on them, some are actually afraid.  I was sitting on the bed, putting my CI’s on and watching the room fill with bubbles.  I realized I was hearing a soft snapping sound.  I looked around, trying to place it, and happened to be looking right at a bubble as it popped in mid-air.  Snap!  I watched a few more to be sure I was connecting the sound and the activity correctly…and yes, I was really hearing the bubbles popping!  I always thought it was just a soundless thing.  Even with hearing aids I never knew bubbles made noise when they popped.

This week has been the first week with no mapping since my CI’s were activated on August 20th.  My last weekly visit was on Sept. 25.  I thought I would just be getting my one month post-activation hearing tests, basically.  Instead, Krystine set all the thresholds for the lowest sounds I could hear (previously I had been giving her the loudest sound levels that were comfortable).  That really took a while because I had to be sure I was really hearing the sound and not just imagining it…it was very, very faint.

The Fidelity 120 program is a keeper – I’ve had no problems with my left processor turning completely off like it was doing before.  I can still tell that the CI’s are dampening the high-pitched sounds but she must have adjusted something when I mentioned it to her, because it doesn’t do it nearly as much as it used to.

One thing I noticed is that if I try to critique sound when I have just one CI on, it’s always the same comments no matter what changes she makes:  the left CI usually sounds a little echo-y and kind of low pitched (voices sound more like Darth Vader).  The right CI sounds more high pitched and sharp, with voices having a touch of the chipmunk or helium sound.  Once I have both CI’s on at the same time, everything equalizes and sounds normal.  I really can’t say enough good things about being bilateral!  It is just a completely different sound with two CI’s on versus one or the other.

After all the tweaking of the software and once we had all the volume levels set, I went in for another hearing test.  This time I was able to hear some of the high pitched sounds but the CI’s did dampen down for some of them.  I could tell right away what was happening so I just let them know which pitches were activating the sound compression on my CI’s.  Krystine didn’t mention how I did for the tone portion of the test so I assume my results were consistent with the past two tests.

Next they did the sentences, where there’s a man’s voice coming through the speakers and you repeat the sentences he’s saying.  This was the test I got 44% on the week before.  This time I got 97% correct!  So it was either the newest mapping or the fact that I was used to the Fidelity 120 program after using it for a week…or maybe a little of both.  Either way, we were happy with the results!  They also tested me with noise added, which was much more difficult.  I only got 55% correct for that part.  But on a positive note, that’s better than I did with my hearing aids (before I lost all of my hearing) so even that test showed some improvement!

Now I’m on my own until November 6, when I have my 3 month post-activation mapping.  So far things have been just fine.  I still find myself turning the volume down at the start of the day…I can’t just put the CI’s on at the normal volume level or it’s too overwhelming.  Usually by dinnertime I’m up to the normal level and I rarely go past that setting unless we’re watching TV.  Sometimes I’ll turn the volume up a little bit then.

I did get my new program for the Direct Connect.  I have a regular program in the P1 setting which is 100% T-Mic (Fidelity 120-P).  The P2 program is for loud settings, to compress background noise, so I use it in the car, at the mall, in restaurants, etc.  And now my P3 setting is for the Direct Connect.  This is 50% regular mic and 50% T-Mic, so that when I use the Direct Connect to listen to my MP3 player, I can still hear some environmental sounds.  So if Paige or Dave talks to me, I can hear them.  I really, really like this setting – it’s the best of both worlds!

Listening to music with the Direct Connect is pretty cool.  At first the volume was just way too much…I actually had the MP3 player on volume level 1.  If I turned it up, everything just sounded like noise.  But I experimented and found that if I increased the volume in small increments, it just took a minute or so for the noise to turn back into music and to sound good again.  I was able to get up to volume level 7 this way.  (I actually don’t know how loud the MP3 player goes – I can’t find the manual right now.)

The telephone is still incomprehensible.  But television sounds a lot better.  That buzzy edge to the sound is gone, and even some of the music is starting to sound good.

So now I guess I need to get with modern technology.  I threw some Depeche Mode onto the MP3 player really quickly, but I don’t know anything about this little device.  I figured I would start with music I already know, but my kids are eager for me to hear the bands they like too.  Eric was teasing me – when I told him that on louder volumes, the music just sounds like noise, he told me he would send me some music….then he laughed and said, “I could send you noise bands, like Merzbow!”  (Their music is supposed to just sound like noise, I guess!)  We agreed that yes, that would be mean, so I made him promise not to do that.  Instead he sent me some songs by the Decemberists, which he swears I will like.

And always, I just keep coming back to how mind-blowing this is.  I’m talking about discovering new bands…and technically I’m deaf.  I’m deaf and I can hear my cat purring as she sits next to me.  Unbelievable!!

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on October 4, 2008, in Cochlear Implants & Hearing Loss, Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. oh wow, its always great learning the new sounds isnt it?? :D i know exactly what u mean by “im deaf yet i can listen to music” when i tell people that online they go “how??” haha
    Glad u are loving your new journey with sounds! :0D
    i have had mine 14 yrs and i still discover some new sounds lol its pretty amazing aint it!? :D xx

  2. sorry my blog is http://www.lozsmedicaljourney.blogspot.com i dont know where i get world from haha

  3. That’s AMAZING!! I’m so excited for you!! I’m currently waiting on Doctor’s appt on the 30th of October to see if he will let me get the 2nd CI by Christmas. I only have 6 more appointments of therapies with my Audiologist then I’m done. I did sign up for a study going back at every 3 months for 2 years.

    Again, I am so happy for you!! :) I enjoy reading your blog! Thanks for taking the time to write them.

    Have a great day!!

  4. So exciting reading this. Wendi, have you tried a “good” cell phone? I still cannot use our home “land line” but have amazingly good comprehension on a Blackbery curve cell phone. So does Abbie and a few other CI folks.

    David

  5. Wow!!! Bubbles popping!!! I’m impressed. That is really great.
    I know that Darth Vader sound, it has been haunting me lately – so a new mapping is scheduled.

    I have been bilateral almost a year now – woohoo! It is great.

    Wow – Bubbles popping !

    Glenice

  6. I had no idea bubbles popping had sound, either, until there was a discussion on a listserv about it. Someone was saying that on a cartoon, she could hear bubbles and thought that was just TV. But bubbles did make sounds when they burst.

    So glad that things are going so well for you. I can’t hear the phone with the CI ear yet. (Optimistic: Yet…winks).

    I’ve never heard of the Decemberists. I can just hear it now. “Mom, get with it.” LOL.

    Heres to many more CI moments.

    Shari

  7. Wendi, I’m having so much fun reading your posts about your CI and activation! Thanks for making it so much fun! You are going to really be glad you did this one day! It’s so much fun to go back and “read”!

  8. Wendi, you are doing such a great job documenting your CI journey!! As Denice said, you will be so glad you kept an account of these beginning months when years from now, you won’t remember all this.

    I’ve been bilateral now for 7 months and I also can’t believe the difference having 2 ears makes. My right is higher pitched than my left but together, the sound is so great!

    Now I’ve got to buy some bubbles to hear them, too, and to see how my 3 cats react.

    Thanks for sharing!

  9. Wouldn’t ya know of all days that I finally get around to reading this really glorious moment I threw out a big bottle of bubbles that did not that enthuse my dog in the least little bit?

    Amazing, snapping bubbles :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

