Avert your eyes

I just realized something tonight when we were watching two of our favorite medical dramas, Grey’s Anatomy and ER: I have to watch the surgery scenes! Aaagh!

Normally I avert my eyes during anything bloody/gory/graphic because I’m a wuss. It sounds a little strange but usually I watch the TV reflection in our window…I can get a sense of what’s happening without graphic details, and I can tell when the “gory” stuff is over so I can look back at the TV. Then I just listen to the dialog and although I usually miss 90% of it, I can tell whether it’s important to the story (or funny dialog) or if it’s just the ole “Pass me the scalpel!” type stuff.

Well, now I can’t do that. If I want to know what’s going on, I have to watch the TV to read the captions. All the time. During all the gore. I ended up covering my view of the TV screen with my hand as much as possible, and squinting to read the captions without getting too much visual. I’m sure I looked ridiculous but hey, I’m not giving up my favorite shows because of this!

So I’m either going to have to learn to steel myself for these scenes, just miss the dialog and have Dave tap my arm so I know when to look back at the TV, or get really good at blocking out the view of everything but the captions. Who knew this would be an issue?! Too funny!

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on April 25, 2008, in Observations. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

