Tinnitus in Stereo

I think it’s been happening for about 2 weeks now.  The first time it happened, it startled me as much as it would if I could suddenly hear again.

Have you ever used one of those metal noisemakers they give out at New Years parties?  The ones I remember were rectangular with a little spinning handle on one end.  You held onto the handle and with a flick of the wrist, the metal part would spin around, making a weird kind of clicking noise.  It used to remind me a little of the sound it makes when you put a playing card in the spokes of a bicycle wheel and ride around.

Well, lately my right ear, which has been completely deaf for over 15 years now, comes to life at times with short tinnitus bursts that sound exactly like one of those noisemakers.  It never lasts very long, but it’s very loud!

I never really thought about which ear I was hearing tinnitus in.  It just felt like it was in my head in general.  But now it’s very obvious that the musical constant tinnitus is coming from my left ear.  My right ear has only recently begun chiming in.  Now I have tinnitus in stereo.

There can be 3 or 4 different sounds going on at once.  I get the constant sound from my left ear and periodic “boop”, “whirrrrr”, “click click” from the right.  It’s so amazingly obvious that it’s coming from my right ear that it was almost exciting the first few times I heard it!  It makes me realize how long it’s been since I heard things from both ears at the same time.

Even though I was an adult, in my 20’s, when I was wearing a hearing aid in my right ear and my left ear was unaided (even though I had a moderate hearing loss at the time), I can’t remember hearing sounds in both ears.  I really can’t imagine hearing in stereo.

About wendiwendy

I'm a real-life bionic woman.

Posted on June 29, 2008, in Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hi there…

    I too suffer from constant tinnitus in both ears and they constantly keep me awake at night making it difficult for me to fall asleep. I am Deaf and used to have good hearing now that I am older..the ringing gets worst. On top of that, it has a lot to do with the diet especially with high-fructose corn syrup that is in all of our food products…check every ingredients in your food cupboard. 99% of the time, you’d find all of the food products that you are eating have high sugar, high fructose corn syrup, salt and caffeine as well and those cause severe tinnitus in many people not just deaf people but hearing people. There is a book out by Richard Johnson called High-Fructose Fallout that is Making You Sick…find it in your local bookstore. Changing your current diet will reduce the tinnitus and I had to do just that and I am learning I noticed the severity has gone down when I avoid these certain foods. The book recommends whole natural fresh food they do not contain any of these nasty ingredients that are bad for us. The only trouble is you have to constantly go to the food store everyday and also look for organic stuff which cost more but in the end it is worth it. I suffer from vertigo the M Disease..no cure for that either. Just diet change especially low sodium diet and low fructose diet. Its very difficult to change because these stuff are in all food products its unreal…the food industry should be used. It explains why millions of Americans now are suffering with Type II Diabetes and the food industry added these products in the mid 1080’s and since then its been a downhill and the cost of medical care goes up. Terrible isn’t it? Its like we cant win but the book says we can win if we become the best educated consumer and watch what we put in our bodies.

    Like

  2. I meant the food industry should be sued…not used sorry for the typo

    Like

  3. Wow I was about to comment on diet when I read these comments.
    I too have severe, although not 24/7 Tinnitus. I had it so bad today that I had to lie down with a cloth over my head. I can’t pinpoint it, but it seems to be on my non-implanted side.
    Mine might be stereo, but I can’t tell auditory hallucinations from tinnitus anymore.
    Anyway, try diet and see what happens.
    BTW, I love you blog, read it most days.
    You are a great writer and tell your story so well.
    Thank you for this

    David

    Like

  4. Sometimes I just go with the flow and “make” a sound in my head and the tinnitus would follow it. LOL. Keeps me sane that way. 🙂

    I was just told that everything’s set. All I need is a surgery date. Will announce it as soon as I find out when it is. Wouldn’t that be something if you and Karen and I were to get it on the same date? Like I said before, I wouldn’t want to steal anyone’s thunder. Now that I am not fighting the insurance denial, I am stressing about the surgery. Yikes. LOL.

    Like

  5. Mine has been in stereo for close to 20 years. Fortunately, they’re in tune. Occasionally they break into a kind of cacaphony, and that’s headache-inspiring, but most of the time, if they’re not the same high-pitched note (like a teakettle whistle or a microwave ready tone) they’re a triad or sometimes even the same note in different octaves. Right now I’ve got C & E notes going.

    CK

    Like

  6. Blaming High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS) will only delay real progress for you. Fructose is the sugar in *all* fruit, and it is half of what makes sucrose (table sugar is fructose-glucose). You cannot avoid fructose and have a healthy diet.

    David

    Like

  7. I have developed a constant ringing of tinnitus in my left ear. Seem to be able to lessen it with some of the herbal medications and B Complex but unable to get rid of it. I have a thyroid condition and take medication each day. Try to watch my diet and get exercise.

    I have been almost totally deaf in in right ear all of my life and this tone in my left ear is driving me nuts. Has anyone looked into the possibility of a masker that might work in my one “good” ear to mask the sound and still be able to use the hearing device as a hearing aid.?

    Like

  8. Ugh, tinnitus is a bastard. I’ve always suffered from tinnitus but my worst experience was when I lost my hearing. Then it just progressed to this awful train constantly circling my head. I tried to change my diet, abstained from salt, caffeine (UGH), alcohol, sugar. I turned into a total raw food freak, and to find out there was nothing aggravating it in my case. I damn near went batty suffering from that. It was nothing but blaring loud tinnitus for 7 very long months. Thank goodness the CI surgery stopped that!

    Like

  9. Horrible condition. I tried so many things that I nearly gave up hope. Recently Ive have pretty amazing results with Yale Audio’s treatment. http://www.yaleaudio.com

    Ive been using it for about 2 weeks and have noticed quite an improvement in my tinnutus. Anyone else try this yet?

    Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

