What did you say??

I’ve been going through old emails and files, trying to find the story that Dave typed up about how we met and fell in love.  It used to be up on a personal website of mine that I started in the late ’90s but it’s been taken down and I have no idea where I saved the HTML files that used to be up there.

Anyway, I found this email that I sent to one of my mailing lists on February 8, 1999.  (Dave and I had known each other about a year at this point.)  It just cracked me up, re-reading it, and it’s one of the funny examples of what it’s like to be in a relationship where both parties have a hearing loss.  Here’s the email, word for word:

“Here’s an example of some of the goofy things Dave and I mishear:

Last night we were getting ready to watch The Practice, and I had this total taste for cookies. <g> Dave asked me if I’d have a cup of coffee, if he made a small pot. I said sure, and then I said, “And would you partake in a cookie with me?”

He gives me this little grin and says, “Well, no, not tonight…but thank you for the offer!”

Just the way he said it and the little grin he gave me made me think he misheard me…so I said “Wait a minute…what did you think I said???”

He said, “Would you partake in a quickie with me?”

HAHAHAHAHA!!

Then I told him I was offended he would have turned me down…LOL…but when I told him what I really had said, we couldn’t stop laughing!

Too funny! I teased him all night about that!! <g> ”

….back to 2008 here.  😀  I’m not sure if anyone still uses that <g> symbol to denote “grin”.  I actually do still use it sometimes and I’ve found I have to explain to people what it means.  That really makes me feel old!!  🙂

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on July 17, 2008, in Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. That is funny! I cannot tell you how many times I’ve had to laugh at myself because of a misunderstanding. My husband and I have our “secret phrases” too that no one would understand!

    Your surgery date is getting close! May I add your link on my blog? Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. Hi Laurie! Thank you and yes, of course you can add my link — the more, the merrier! 🙂

    I can’t believe surgery is only 4 days away! I’m thinking positive, happy thoughts here so I’m getting excited!!

    Like

  3. Hey Wendi, where was his mind??? LOL

    And, yes, some people still use for grin or an s for smile.

    Four days for you and five for me. I’m still calm. 🙂

    I forgot to ask you about the link. I just went ahead and linked yours to mine. Hope that’s okay. 🙂

    Like

  4. Just as I thought. The g disappeard. That’s why I didn’t do that with the s in the above comment.

    Like

  5. Wendi, that is sooooooo funny.
    What a cute story!

    Like

  6. LOL!!! I don’t have a husband but I can totally relate to mistaken sexual innuendos 🙂

    Like

  7. LOL Very funny… I remember the …. and , right?
    But, I think I would have been offended if my hubby turned down an offer for a quickie too… LOL.

    Like

  8. wait.. where did my *g* and *s* go? 😕

    Like

  9. ha ha…I think the signs disappear in comments. I was surprised they showed up in my post, actually! Probably because they’re used in HTML code so the computer thinks they’re part of a command. Maybe. I don’t know. 🙂

    I’m glad there are people who remember that, though!! My daughter had NO idea what it meant. I used to use all kinds of variations…vbg, vbeg, that sort of thing.

    Does anyone remember chatting via mIRC and getting slapped with a trout?! LOL 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

