Hearing Again

“Isn’t it wonderful to hear again?” they ask.  “What is it like?  Is it amazing?”

It’s so difficult to describe.  For me, there was no jaw-dropping moment, no instance when I felt like shouting “Eureka!” or heard perfect, crystal clear, normal sounds.  It was all so gradual and so ever-changing that now, 3 weeks after activation, it just seems normal.  I don’t spend every minute thinking “Oh my gosh, I can hear!”

It feels like it’s been longer, to be honest.  I had to count twice when I was checking the amount of time since my activation day.  Three weeks, really?  That’s it?!

The initial moment when I first heard sound was so annoying (with the magnet falling off my head) and so bizarre, with the robotic and buzzing sounds I was hearing, that it was almost anti-climactic.  What’s been really fun and cool is realizing how the sounds are changing once my brain realizes what I’m hearing.  But the way things sound right now is very familiar to me, and it feels just like it did when I had hearing aids.  So it’s almost just like old times, and I can even forget that there was a period of time when I couldn’t hear anything at all…until I take my CI’s off and there I am again.

Maybe if I hadn’t had any hearing before, I would still be in more constant awe of what I’m hearing.  And it’s not that I’m not in awe, really, because I’m always aware of the fact that it’s a miracle that I can sit here and feel like nothing has changed, I can hear just like before.  Because I’m still deaf.  But now I can hear too!

Today Dave and I took a walk with Toby.  I heard a loud, buzzing sound.  “What’s that?” I asked.  This can be a challenge for Dave because sometimes he doesn’t recognize the source of the sound either, or sometimes I’m actually hearing something he can’t.  So we looked around.  “A plane?” he posited.  “Maybe”, I nodded, as we continued walking.  Then we saw it – to our right, someone mowing their lawn.  Once I saw the lawn mower the sound started to change for me.  Maybe because I was getting closer so the sound was clearer, or maybe because I knew what I was hearing.  But I heard the sputtering of the motor and heard the nuances of the sound instead of just a buzzing roar.

Today I was reading and got sleepy, so I set the book down and closed my eyes.  I could hear something, kind of like scraping or a scratching sound.  I kept my eyes closed and tried to think of what it could be.  I decided it had to be Dave cleaning the litter box on the landing, the scoop scraping along the bottom of the box.  I opened my eyes and I was totally wrong – Dave was cutting up strawberries, then using a masher to kind of smash them up into a puree.  I closed my eyes again, and this time I heard another sound.  It was clear and unmistakable – our guinea pigs wheeking!  (If you’ve never been around guinea pigs, they make a whistling, wheeking sound — almost like birds chirping – when they want attention or food.)  They probably heard Dave opening the refrigerator (and they know we keep the carrots in the fridge).  I don’t even know when was the last time I heard the pigs wheeking, to be honest.  It’s a high pitched sound and I think I was starting to lose those sounds even when I could still hear with my hearing aids.

I actually hear better with the CI’s than I did with the hearing aids.  I can’t say whether sound is more natural through CI’s since I don’t remember natural sound…I was probably less than 18 months old the last time I heard that.  But I can definitely say that I prefer sound through the CI’s than sound through a hearing aid.  I never had digital hearing aids, so I never had experience with sound compression.  But I love the way the CI’s handle sound.  For example, I took a shower and had the exhaust fan on in the bathroom.  I didn’t have my CI’s on at that time, of course, but later on after I put them in, I walked into the bathroom to put my makeup on.  The fan was still going and it was the loudest sound, by far.  Then I turned the water on – and that noise jumped to the foreground.  I heard the water best, with the exhaust fan faintly in the background.  Dave walked into the bathroom, opened a canister and got a Q-tip.  The sound of the lid settling back onto the canister was more clear than either the water or the exhaust fan.  It was kind of amazing!  With hearing aids everything was the same level unless you turned down the volume, in which case then everything was harder to hear.

High pitched sounds are much easier for me to hear, and when I do hear them they don’t hurt my ears they way they did when I wore hearing aids.

The only things that still aren’t the way I remember them are music (which I can hear, but does still have a “buzzy” edge to it), the television (again, it’s got a buzz surrounding all the sound), and the telephone.

Still though, it’s kind of funny how it just all feels normal now.  Only three weeks in!  I still have so much ahead of me but what I’ve had so far has been, well, a miracle.  A kind of everyday brilliance that I should never take for granted.

About wendiwendy

I'm a real-life bionic woman.

Posted on September 11, 2008, in Cochlear Implants & Hearing Loss, Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. As for music – yeah I had the same issue you did with music, shortly after I was activated with the buzzing noise on top of it.

    After with some tweaking here and there, the buzzing went away. We both have different processors, so I couldn’t really give you any suggestions.

    It may take a couple more mappings to get music settled.

    Like

  2. Wheeking! A new word for me. I looked it up and it is actually a real word connected with guinea pig sounds. AND there are guinea pig forums! Who’d of thunk it?

    I love the way you describe what you’re hearing, especially since Amanda can’t.

    Keep those descriptions coming! Glad things are going so well for you, Wendi!

    Jennifer 😀

    Like

  3. I found your comparison of hearing with hearing aids and the CIs very interesting!

    Like

  4. Like Jennifer above, I never heard of the word wheeking. I was going to look it up, but I’ll take Jennifer’s word for it. It saves me the research. LOL.

    I’m so glad things are working out so great for you. I know what you mean about the high pitched noises hurting your ears with the hearing aids. I get high pitched noises and they don’t really make me wince the way they did with hearing aids. Yay.

    You are hearing better than with the hearing aids. I am really happy for you.

    TVs, phones, and music is all electronic-related. I wonder if the buzzing takes the longest to acclimate with electronic gizmos.

    Like

  5. Ahh i remember the wheeking. Music was very difficult for several months but some how I think you will come around sooner then I 🙂 You are doing fantastic, keep them on and keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

