Decisive

You know what I really like about cochlear implants versus my hearing aids?  When the battery dies, that is IT.  There’s no wishy-washy period where it sounds like things aren’t as clear but…am I imagining it?  Maybe I’m just getting a cold or something (which used to affect my hearing).  With the hearing aid batteries, it seemed like things would get kind of ‘soft’ and I didn’t always have a battery tester handy to check.  Eventually I’d get aggravated enough to change batteries, which sometimes helped and sometimes I just couldn’t tell.  Did I waste a perfectly good battery by throwing it away and putting in a new one?

With the CIs, I never notice a period of sound getting fuzzy or softer or whatever.  As far as I can tell, when my rechargeable batteries are losing power, it doesn’t affect how my CIs perform.  But when they are out of power, BAM.  The CI just turns off completely.  It’s very decisive and “Okay, go put a new battery in now…no question about it.”  I love it!

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on December 21, 2008, in Cochlear Implants & Hearing Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great advantage! Amanda seems to be able to go all day without needing to change her battery. But she always keeps one with her just in case.

    Like

  2. I can go about 5 days without changing my batteries! I love that it lets me know that the batteries are gona run out by beeping that only I can hear! It;s not some hearing aid that will BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP and whistle to let u and other people know batteery has gone!! x

    Like

  3. Hello,

    Are you born in profound deaf? Or You were hearing before?

    It is really nice on your blog! Sharing your CIs journal 🙂

    Merry Christmas.

    Betty

    Like

  4. My hearing aids actually beep and let me know when the battery needs to be changed. I used Phonak NAIDAs. I think most good hearing aids do this for you.

    Like

  5. Hi Betty! I think I probably had hearing when I was born — my hearing loss was discovered when I was 4 and they think it was from a fever (but they don’t know for sure).

    I became profoundly deaf — as in, hearing nothing, not even jet engines — in April 2008.

    Joseph, I heard great things about the Naida! My hearing aids were OLD, analog aids (I never could afford digital) so I never had those fancy newfangled features. LOL 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

