Sniffling and Sneezing

Dave has a cold right now, and I really feel for the guy.  I mean, colds totally suck…but you get no respect when you have a cold.  People are all, “Oh whatever – it’s a cold.”  If you take a sick day from work or school, you look like a wimp.  But for me, colds rank right up there in the Horrible Disease column.  I’m not sure if it’s just my delicate constitution or if everyone feels this way when they get a cold, but it just sucks all the energy out of my body.  All I want to do is sleep, blow my nose, and weep silent tears over the pain in my throat and my sore, red nose.

A cold just makes you feel so completely, totally miserable.  You’re exhausted, your throat is either scratchy or flat-out sore every time you swallow, your nose is running and raw, you can’t taste anything, your eyes are watery and if you’re especially lucky, you have a funky cough that likes to kick in at bedtime.

When I feel like this, the last thing I want to do is drag my ass out of bed.  It takes all I’ve got just to shuffle to the bathroom, much less perform an actual job, make dinner or clean the house.  Dave is awesome – if I’m sick, he just takes over without me having to ask.  He makes dinner, when the kids were little he handled all their needs, he brings me food, medicine, tissues – he basically waits on me hand and foot.

So it really makes me crazy that I can’t take care of him like this when he gets sick.  I know husbands get a bad rap where illness is concerned – wives like to talk about all the everyday stuff they still have to do when they’re sick, while the husbands lay around moaning and complaining.  Dave is totally the opposite, and when he gets sick he just powers through it.  It is very, very rare for him to just lie in bed (in fact, that’s how I know he is seriously sick, like pneumonia or something).  Heck, even when he had pneumonia a couple years back he still went out and mowed the yard!

So anyway, he has this cold and my heart aches for him.  He’s hacking and sniffling and sounds like he just smoked a couple packs of cigarettes and drank a bottle of whisky.  But every time I ask if I can do anything for him, he never takes me up on it.  I offer to bring him tissues, medicine, make him something to eat…”Nah, I’m fine.”  The most I can do is get him to lie down and read for a while.  And I made him cookies today.  🙂

He’s always told me if he was sick, like in-the-hospital sick, he wouldn’t want me to visit or fuss over him.  I keep telling him there’s no way he can keep me away – it just completely goes against my instincts.  I know he has this Hepatitis C treatment on the horizon (who knows when) and I’m wondering if I’ll finally get the chance to take care of him as nicely as he takes care of me.  (Well, I’d rather he didn’t go through the treatment at all but if it clears him of the virus, it’s worth it!)

In the meantime, I’ll just keep trying to get him used to a little extra fussing here and there when he’s sick.  He deserves it.

About wendiwendy

I'm a real-life bionic woman.

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Family, Not Related to Hearing Loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hownottokillyourparents

    He sounds like a pretty awesome guy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

