Holidaze

I woke up feeling a little ‘off’ this morning…not quite sick but definitely not with my usual energy.  I decided not to set any lofty goals for myself today, just in case I started to feel really bad later on.  So I don’t have a set topic today…I’m feeling a little scatterbrained, better than I did at the start of the day (whew) but still not quite focused and as sharp as I’d like to be.  I’ll just do a stream of consciousness thing today, I think.  (True fact:  I sat here trying to figure out how to spell consciousness for about 5 minutes, sounding it out and doing phonetic spelling, until I gave up and searched it online.  See what I mean?!  Not quite myself today.)

I casually mentioned to Dave that there was a Christmas movie I loved as a kid, called ‘The House Without A Christmas Tree.’  The young girl, Addie, was a real spitfire (as I remembered it, anyway – much more bold than I was at her age!) and I read the book the movie was based on.  (I think there may have been a few books revolving around Addie, actually.)  It was only on TV for a few years in the early to mid ‘70s and I was sure Dave had never heard of it – I felt like I was perhaps the only person who remembered it, to be honest.  As I gave him a synopsis, I realized it was kind of a depressing story (girl’s mom dies in childbirth or soon after (I can’t remember) and she’s raised by her dad and grandmother.  Dad’s a bit of a curmudgeon and refuses to have a Christmas tree because it reminds him of his wife…I think.  It has a happy ending though, thank goodness.)  Well, last night Dave surprised me and said he found a copy of it, with captions!  So guess who’s watching The House Without A Christmas Tree this weekend?  🙂

House Without A Christmas Tree

House Without A Christmas Tree

I had the energy to make one batch of ‘cookies’ today (you’ll see why I have that in quotes in a second) so I decided to make Thin Mints.  You know, those addictive Girl Scout cookies?  So good that you can finish a whole box in one sitting?  (Or is that just me?)  Well, this recipe was stupidly easy.  I saw Andes Crème de Menthe baking chips at the store when we were shopping, so I tossed them into the cart on impulse.  I had a sleeve and a half of reduced-fat Ritz crackers already at home.  Today I melted the mint chocolate in the microwave, dipped the Ritz crackers in the chocolate (use a fork and let the chocolate drop through the tines) and put them on a wax-paper-lined baking sheet.  Let them cool in the fridge for a few minutes, then tentatively bite into one because you’re not convinced they won’t be a bit, um, gross.  Then say, “Holy crap, these taste exactly like Thin Mints!” and envision making them every single day.

I had Paige try one – she actually doesn’t like mint very much so I didn’t even know if she liked Thin Mints to begin with.  She begged me to buy the ingredients to make more so she can take them back to school with her in January.  🙂

Side note:  I realized that I have an easier time writing if I don’t have my ‘ears’ on.  I wonder if that’s why I wrote so much more in 2008, before I got my cochlear implants?  (Then again, maybe I just had more to talk about back then – I really wanted to document what it was like to lose all my hearing, all the things I might forget someday.)  Anyway, I just find it easier to concentrate and I don’t get distracted since I can’t hear anything.

We got a teeny, tiny bit of snow this morning.  Paige scolded me, as if I had anything to do with it.  “Mom!  It’s snowing!” (hands on hips, eyes narrowed)  Alas, it only lasted for five minutes or so.  But I did see a winter weather statement for Wednesday night into Thursday night, and we might even get an inch or so of snow on Thursday.  !!!  I know better than to get my hopes up; we often get storm warnings and then have them completely pass us by.  But I am hopeful that maybe, just maybe, I’ll get a white Christmas after all.

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on December 18, 2012, in Family, Not Related to Hearing Loss, Observations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

