Reflections

It’s been a long, productive day.  I made a bunch of things I’m planning to give as gifts (this is an extra frugal Christmas but I enjoy making things anyway), then Dave and I spent the afternoon doing a final declutter downstairs.  All we really have to finish is the bathroom and some painting in the entryway, which should go quickly.  It’s hard to even remember what it used to look like now – very, very satisfying!

I made dinner, we watched “Seeking A Friend for the End of the World” which we really enjoyed (Paige bailed early on) and then I made some more Thin Mints and wrapped some gifts and here I am.

We got the happy news that Eric will be here tomorrow instead of Christmas Eve, which is fantastic!  He just got a new apartment in Chicago (moves in about a week) and a new job as well, so I wasn’t sure how much of him we’d see this year.  Since the kids are going to their dad’s on Christmas Day, we’re having our big celebration/dinner on Christmas Eve although we’ll still open gifts in the morning.

Yesterday we had what was probably our final ‘Company Christmas Party.’  This is something we started in 2001, when we started the candle business.  The first year caught us completely by surprise when November rolled around – we were so busy, unbelievably busy, and it seemed like we barely saw the kids until we closed the business for a holiday break.  The day I put up the “Orders will be processed in January” notice on the website, we decided to have a Company Christmas Party to celebrate with the kids.  They were young, 7 and 11 years old, and we ordered dinner from their favorite restaurant, then played a variety of board games all night.  We took them to the store and let them pick out dessert trays and we let them stay up until they got tired.  It was so much fun, and it became a yearly tradition.  I printed up fancy invitations that I would set out by their plates at breakfast a couple days before, and sometimes we changed it up – we might go to a movie in the afternoon, drive around to see Christmas lights, etc. but we always did the big dinner, dessert, a small gift each for the kids, and board games.

Now business is pretty slow and the kids are grown.  Eric wasn’t here, and Paige was tired and went to bed before we did last night, but we still had a good dinner and a great time playing Phase 10 and Yahtzee.  It’s sad to see a tradition die off, but I’m glad we had so many years of fun with them when they were kids.  I’m sure we’ll come up with some new traditions as everyone moves on to their new stage of life.

We still have a dusting of snow from the non-storm we got the other day, all the gifts are bought and wrapped, and I’m just looking forward to spending lots of time with my family over the next couple of days.  Life is good.

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on December 22, 2012, in Family, Not Related to Hearing Loss, Observations. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

