Safe and Sound

We’ve been watching the news out of Oklahoma with heavy hearts – the images of the destruction caused by the tornado are almost impossible to comprehend.  I can’t help imagining how scared the kids in those elementary schools must have been, and how absolutely terrified their parents must have been as they waited to find out if they were okay.  My heart goes out to everyone who lost property, suffered injuries or worse, who had to endure the storm not knowing whether they would survive.

Here in Illinois, we get some wild weather at times but mostly in the form of thunderstorms.  We’ve never had a tornado in our town; we had that derecho last summer which was scary and knocked out the power for three days, and I remember one instance when Eric was a baby (in the summer of 1990) when there was a bad tornado not that far from here.

We have a lower level with a full bath, so I imagine that’s where we’d go if a storm was in our path.  I worry about the cats, of course, because only one of them is tame enough to catch and put in a carrier; the other three we would have to try to herd down into the lower level with us and then pray for their safety.  But if a tornado blew through our neighborhood in the middle of the night, let’s be serious:  we would stay asleep until it lifted us out of our beds.  Well, Dave might hear it, hopefully in time for us to move to safety.  But we would never hear our town’s tornado siren; we are lucky to hear it when we’re awake and have our hearing instruments on!

I’ve been working toward making things a little more safe for us at night, when I have my cochlear implant processors off (and I’m completely deaf) and Dave has his hearing aid off (and he’s got a severe to profound hearing loss).  Previously, the only alerting device we had in our bedroom was my Sonic Alert alarm clock.  It has a vibrating disc connected to it, which you slip between your mattress and box spring (or under your pillow, if you really want to scare the bejesus out of yourself in the morning).  It will vibrate the bed when the alarm goes off, and it will also alert you to the phone if you have the phone connected as well.  We don’t have a phone in the bedroom (and our phone service is through our cable) so we can’t use it for that.  At least we have a way to wake up on time!

I knew we could do better, though.  There are all kinds of systems out there for the deaf and hard of hearing which will alert you to all manner of things:  doorbell, baby crying, smoke detector, etc.  We have a smoke detector (one of three) right outside our bedroom door, but would it wake us up at night if there was a fire?  Hell no!  Well…again, it might wake Dave up since he has some hearing left.  But it definitely wouldn’t wake me up.  Some fire departments give out smoke detectors with a strobe light for the deaf/hard of hearing.  After exhaustive research, I couldn’t find one in our area and once I realized that the only alerting mechanism was a strobe light, I knew it wouldn’t help me anyway.  It might help if I happened to be awake and looking in the general area of the smoke detector when it went off, but otherwise it would never wake me up.

I started looking into these all-in-one systems and just about fell over from sticker shock.  They range in price from about $190 up to many hundreds of dollars.  I guess they assume that everyone with a hearing loss also has a lot of money!  Yes, we want to be safe but we also have to be able to afford the equipment.

There’s a place in our state (Illinois Assistive Technology Program) that will loan, for free, all kinds of equipment to people with various disabilities, hearing loss included.  However, the loan is only for five weeks and then you have to return it.  It’s a “try before you buy” kind of thing.  It’s awesome if you have a short term need, or are really planning to spend big bucks on something and want to be sure it will be helpful before you spend the money.  But it’s obviously not a long-term solution.

I decided to fall back on my main avenue for items I can’t afford at full price:  eBay.  I searched for three different popular, recommended alerting systems to see if any were available at an affordable price.  I lucked out in my search for the AlertMaster AM6000 unit.   It’s normally sold for $180 and I was able to get it for $19.95 on eBay.  It comes with a wireless doorbell and a bed shaker along with the base unit.  It also functions as an alarm clock.

You can have the system alert you to things like a baby crying, a smoke alarm (or other audible alarm that continues for at least 12 seconds), even a motion detector.  The problem is, all of these things are separate transmitters that cost about $50 each.  You could easily spend more than $400 on the base unit, all of the transmitters and a pager that you can wear in order to be notified all around your home.

Our main concerns were the smoke detector and the doorbell.  I figured the doorbell alert came with the base unit, so all I’d have to do is save for the audio alarm transmitter (for the smoke detector).  After we took a look at the unit, though, I realized I had been imagining that it would somehow alert us to the doorbell we already have.  We can hear the doorbell just fine during the day, but if someone rings the bell at night (and it has happened before) then we have no idea.  This unit, though, gives you a whole new wireless doorbell that transmits to the base unit.  When someone rings that doorbell, it will shake your bed and/or turn a bedside light on and off.  That doesn’t help us during the day – if we replaced our current doorbell with the new one, we’d never hear our doorbell ringing!  Unless we happened to be lying in bed in the middle of the day, we’d never know there was someone at the door.

We puzzled over this for a while, and then I got the bright idea to have the audio alarm situated between our doorbell chime (in the hallway, by the smoke detector) and the smoke detector.  I figured it would alert us to both the sound of our regular doorbell and the sound of the smoke detector.

We set the base unit aside while I went back to eBay, searching for an audio alarm transmitter for a decent price.  Just by luck, I found someone selling a “Doorbell Notifier” that had the same item number as the audio alarm I needed.  I had a suspicion they didn’t really know what they were selling.  But it was only $9.95 with no bids, so I put in a bid and crossed my fingers.  A few days later, I won the auction and the audio alarm arrived quickly in the mail.  I opened it up and yep…it was the exact transmitter we needed!

We started testing it out and it would just NOT notify us when the doorbell rang.  We could see lights flashing on the transmitter so we assumed it wasn’t defective, but we were really puzzled.  Finally we decided to try it with the smoke detector and see if it detected that sound.  Sure enough, our bed started shaking and the light on the base unit flashed.  I took another look at the manual and noticed it said it would alert for any sound that lasted consistently for 12 seconds or more.  It doesn’t sound like much, but 12 seconds is actually a long time for a doorbell – ours rings just for a couple of seconds.  There was no way it would ring long enough to set off this transmitter.

Dave finally suggested that we put the new doorbell out near the original doorbell, with a sign.  I didn’t want to say something like, “Deaf occupants – please use this doorbell at night” because that would be like saying, “Deaf occupants who can’t hear you, so go ahead and rob us blind while we sleep!”  Instead I just made a small sign:  “Please use this doorbell after 10:30 p.m.”  If I saw something like that, I would assume there was a baby or small child inside and it was a quieter doorbell (or something along those lines).  In any case, the chances of this doorbell being used are pretty slim, but at least we have it out there so the police won’t break down our door if they come calling again at 2 a.m.  (Long story – a misunderstanding regarding my daughter Paige, but it was definitely not an experience we want to repeat since they were NOT happy that it took us so long to answer the door.  Our now-deceased dog was the one who finally alerted us.)

I was thinking we did a pretty good job of securing our overnight safety at a reasonable price, but now I’m wondering if we should look into a storm warning system.  On the one hand, we get lots of weather alerts in the middle of the night for thunderstorms and I definitely wouldn’t want to be woken up for those.  On the other hand, if we have a tornado in the area, I would prefer to know before it bears down on us while we sleep.  Looks like I have a bit more research to do!

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on May 21, 2013, in Cochlear Implants & Hearing Loss, Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I could feel my teeth grinding as I read through your frustrating story, like realizing you need two doorbells. I find myself thoroughly enjoying your writing and am telling myself I need to get off my butt, and do more writing if only to learn to express myself more. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

