Silver Linings

We’ve had a spate of hot, extremely humid days here in Illinois.  (Thankfully they ended yesterday, but we have more to come starting this weekend.)  As luck would have it, the a/c in our car seems to be dying a slow death.  We were driving home from grocery shopping on Monday and I turned on the air after a few minutes.  Warm air was blowing out, which is normal after the car’s been sitting and the interior is so hot, but it never got any colder.

“Um, I think something’s wrong with the a/c,” I suggested.  Dave put his hand in front of the vent and then shook his head.  “Nah, it’s fine, it’s just because it’s so humid.  *something something* can’t evaporate because there’s so much moisture in the air.”  We were almost home at this point and I just ended up opening the windows in the car.  I had a bad feeling, but I can’t argue car stuff with Dave because I have no auto knowledge to back it up.

As we did errands the next day, I noticed again that the a/c was blowing tepid air.  I left it running for a while to see if it would get cooler, and I played with the various settings to see if anything helped.  It never got colder.  This time I was more firm.  “There’s definitely something wrong with the a/c.  It’s not working.”  Dave fiddled with the knobs and then reluctantly agreed with me.

I played it casual, even though not having a/c in the car is a big deal to me.  “We’ll just open the windows, no big deal.”  Most of our errands that day were quick and in town, so we weren’t driving on highways or for long distances or leaving the car to sit in the hot sun in a parking lot.  Still, though, we were shouting to hear each other over the road noise and wind.  My hair looked ridiculous when we got home; I had to wet it down and completely restyle it.  (You can’t just run a brush through curly hair – water and gel are about the only things that tame my hair.)  The hair thing is trivial, but the hearing thing is a big deal to us.  We tend to leave the windows shut and the air on even if it’s not 90 degrees with 97% humidity like it was that day.  Since the car interior gets so hot on a sunny day, even in spring or fall, we’ll put the air on if we have the windows shut…and we keep the windows shut so we can hear each other in the car.

“Well, crap – what’s going to happen when we have to drive on the expressway?”  Dave sighed.  “I guess we need to have it looked at.”  He called and made an appointment for next Tuesday morning.

This is our first big frugal hurdle.  We’ve always had two cars at our disposal, so if one needed repairs we could drive the other.  Now we’re down to one car, so we’re at the mercy of others to follow us to the repair shop and drive us home.  (Thanks, Mom!)  I actually thought about renting a car, and then remembered that you usually need a credit card to do that.  We no longer use any credit cards at all.

Which brings us to the next big hurdle:  How much will it cost?  Before, we never worried much about car repairs because we could put the expense on a credit card.  We winced as we handed the card over, but we didn’t really give it a second thought.  Now we’re depending on hard-earned savings to cover whatever the repair costs will be.  Not only do we worry it will be more than we can afford, but we also hate knowing that we’re taking such a hit to our savings.  But that’s what it’s there for, right?  It’s just a big adjustment, getting used to the cash and debit card lifestyle.

Then this morning I put in a new pair of contact lenses.  I’ve been wearing bifocal contacts for about three years now, and I can’t even express how much I love them.  I marvel all the time at the way they make my eyes feel young again.  But let’s be honest…they’re expensive.  And I order them online.  With a credit card.

Now, we’ve been getting around the ‘need a credit card to purchase’ situations with our PayPal debit card.  I refuse to use the debit card attached to our bank account for online purchases.  I’ve had credit card numbers compromised enough to know that it’s entirely possible a thief could get a hold of it and wipe out our bank account before we knew it.  But the PayPal account usually just holds enough money for the purchases we need to make.  I haven’t given the PayPal debit card access to our checking account to cover any charges beyond what we already have in our PayPal account.  That way, if someone does get a hold of our PayPal debit card number, there won’t be much (if anything) to take.  Any charges bigger than the meager amount we have in our account will just be declined.

We did play with the idea of buying Visa/MasterCard gift cards, but it bugs me to pay a $4 or $5 fee just to buy one.  So for now, the PayPal debit card thing is working out fine.

So I knew I was down to my last pair of bifocal contacts.  I usually buy three boxes at a time and, with shipping, that costs around $150.  (Crazy, I know.  But worth it!)  I also knew that I had two ‘back up’ pairs of regular contacts, and one pair of bifocals with a lesser bifocal strength than the ones I’m using now.  Since we have this looming car expense, I reasoned that I could wear the regular contacts for two weeks, and then the weaker bifocals for another two weeks (and save one pair of the ‘back up’ contacts just in case).  That would give me another month before I have to use the last pair of my current bifocals.  I usually place my order when I open my last pair of contacts, and by the time those are ready to be switched out my new order is here.

Sounds good, right?  Save some money, use up some of these older contact lenses I’ve been hoarding…win/win.  Well, I put the regular contacts in and all was well.  I can see great at long and mid-distance.  I was prepared to be using reading glasses for, well, reading and other close-up things.  It’s a pain in the ass, but definitely doable for just two weeks.  Ah, but I forgot about the computer.  And I spend a LOT of time in front of the computer.

I sat here squinting and trying to decide if I should get my reading glasses.  Finally I gave in, and ahhh…there are the words, crisp and clear!  But when I switch to looking other places than the computer, it’s a jolt.  My eyes have to take a while to adjust again.  With the contacts, everything is seamless.  I look at the computer and see perfectly.  I glance away at something in the distance and see perfectly.  I look down and read the keys on the keyboard perfectly.  There’s no adjustment period.

As I started to apply the very minimal makeup I wear every day (concealer for my dark circles, and a small amount of eyeliner) I realized I couldn’t see my eyes clearly in the mirror.  I could see well enough to get the concealer on, but getting that fine line with the eyeliner was a no-go.  I can’t see the line of my eyelid well enough.  I had completely forgotten how hard this was before I got my bifocal contacts.

I hesitated, not wanting to misjudge and stab myself in the eye with the eye pencil.  I tried putting on my reading glasses, but if I pushed them down on my nose so I had access to my eyes, then I couldn’t see through them.  I ended up lifting them UP and peering through them that way while I quickly lined my eyes.  (No, going without eyeliner is not an option if I’m leaving the house!)

So yes, these are very much First World Problems, and they aren’t complaints, just observations.  Once I get my bifocal contacts again, I will give extra thanks to whoever invented these wonderful little gems.  Hopefully our car won’t use our entire savings account to cover the repairs.  At least we have a car, and have the money to fix it.  And even if we didn’t, we can live without a/c in the car – it’s just a huge inconvenience for two deaf/HOH people in the humid Illinois summer weather.  It’s icky but it won’t kill us.  (It’ll just kill my hair for the day.)

To cap off this triad of Debbie Downer topics, we got Dave’s final Hep C viral load count…and it went UP.  From 4,000 to 9,950.  When he talked to Mita, she said they would have pulled him off the treatment for sure because his number needed to be less than 100 to continue.  Dave was less disappointed by this than I was.  He kept reassuring me, saying that he reacts to things different because of the bone marrow transplant and his subsequent years of graft-versus-host disease.  And I know that’s true, but it was just so disappointing, you know?  He went through all of that for nothing.  It bothers me to know it went back up so quickly; it would have been nice to hear that he’d cleared the virus, even if it didn’t stay that way for his three month test.

Well, anyway.  He’ll get another viral load test at the end of October and we’ll see how much it’s gone up by then.  Maybe there will be a trial he can get into in the future; at the very least, there should be some new medicines available through the VA in 2015.  Everything we’ve read is encouraging as far as the condition of his liver for the next couple of years; even without clearing the virus, the treatment did help bring the number down quite a bit and that is good for the health of his liver.

Silver linings – they’re everywhere; you just have to look for them.

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on July 12, 2013, in Cochlear Implants & Hearing Loss, Medical Visits, Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bummer about the AC…I hope it’s an easy fix! Random thought, but maybe next time you can splurge on something you could get permanent eyeliner 😉 then no worries about putting it on ever again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

