Slowly Becoming Obsolete

Not much has been happening here, other than being slammed with a wave of heat and humidity, and praying for no power outages whenever a storm rolls through.  Having the car in the shop for three days kept us homebound (not that I wanted to be out and about in the heat anyway).  Our biggest entertainment was waiting for the phone to ring, so we could find out the damage on the car repairs.  (More than I wanted to pay, but less than it could’ve been, so…yay?)

I did notice, when I was looking at the calendar earlier this week, that my five year cochlear implant surgery anniversary is coming up (next week on July 22).  It doesn’t seem like it’s been that long…and then other times it kind of feels like I’ve had CIs forever.  What really illustrates the passage of time, though, is new technology.

When I got activated in August of 2008, I got the newest Advanced Bionics processor on the market at the time, the Harmony.  There were people still upgrading from earlier models at that point, and it was kind of exciting to have this cutting edge tech sitting on my ears.  Since then, there have been some new software strategies released (and I did get ClearVoice last year, which I love) as well as the Neptune, which is their waterproof, off-the-ear processor.

From time to time I mentor people who are considering getting an AB cochlear implant; since I got both ears done at once, I often correspond with people who are considering that option.  But now I’ve noticed that I’m not as useful when it comes to the hardware.  I can definitely talk about what it was like to have both ears operated on and activated, but I have no idea what it’s like to wear a Neptune, or what all the accessories are.

On top of that, Advanced Bionics has a new behind-the-ear processor coming out soon, called the Naida CI Q70.  Anyone that’s activated at this point will get that instead of the Harmony (I believe they get a voucher that they can trade in for the new BTE when it’s officially available).  Which is awesome, of course – but that makes me kind of obsolete.  Already!

I’m hoping to upgrade to the Naida Q70, depending on the cost and my insurance coverage, next year sometime.  Still, though, it’s strange to think that my newfangled bionic ears are being passed by already.  Of course, they are still amazing and work just fine – it’s just not as easy to upgrade bionic ears to the latest and greatest as it is to upgrade your phone or your computer.

I’m only five years into this…kind of makes me wonder what lies ahead in the next ten or fifteen years, you know?  Hopefully technology will just keep advancing by leaps and bounds.  What I’m really waiting for isn’t even for me, but for my friends with degenerative vision diseases and conditions…I really want to see them get implants to help with vision the way cochlear implants help with hearing.

In other news, Dave got his very first cell phone…is he possibly the last person around to get a cell phone?  He’s resisted with all his might, and then something just snapped and now he’s a little obsessed.  It’s kind of fun to see him playing with his new toy, even if he won’t give his phone number out to anybody.  (He’s got a pay-as-you-go plan and doesn’t want to use his minutes for anything!)

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on July 19, 2013, in Cochlear Implants & Hearing Loss, Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

