Fourteen Things You May Not Know About Me (Extended Version)

There’s a thing going around on Facebook where you list on your status a certain number of facts that people don’t know about you.  Those who like or comment on your status receive a number for themselves, so they can share their own unknown facts.  My niece, Tia, posted her own facts, I liked her status (not realizing I was participating) and got my assigned number of 14.  Fourteen facts!  Those who know me know that I cannot possibly divulge 14 previously-unknown facts about myself in a Facebook status.  Facebook would blow up from my word count alone.  Then I realized it’s kind of a perfect blog entry — right?  So here I am, along with 14 facts you may or may not already know about me:

  1. I’ve never gone into a bar alone and ordered a drink; partly because I’m not much of an alcohol or bar person, but also because there are too many unknown variables.  How much are the drinks?  How much do I tip?  When do I pay?  And how do people learn this stuff anyway – do they watch a friend when they do it, or is it some kind of lesson I somehow missed?  Probably they just ask and go from there, like a normal grownup (unlike me).
  2. When I was in elementary school, I played the violin.  This was VERY exciting for me, and I loved my violin, the case, the bow, the rosin.  I never really did learn how to play the violin, unfortunately.  I still have flashbacks to the one concert I participated in, trying to fake my way through Pop Goes the Weasel.  (I did the POP part, popping one of the strings, really well though.)  I vaguely remember being told to practice, and I think we must have brought our instruments to music class, but so many other kids were miles beyond me, talent-wise.  How the heck did they get so good?  It certainly wasn’t from what we learned in class, which wasn’t much.  One girl in particular, Noreen, was always asked to play for the class and she was amazing.  She was also the one chosen to sing most often.  (She was pretty, smart, nice, and talented in every area it seemed … I was in awe of her.)  Now that I’m a parent and Paige went through her own experience with flute and band, I realize these other kids must have had tutors.
  3. Thanks to my mom, I had pretty fast labors (not as fast as hers, though).  Eric was induced; I probably went to the hospital too soon, since he was my first, and I had strong Braxton-Hicks contractions.  My blood pressure was high so they kept me and induced me and he was born the next morning, after about five hours of labor.  Four years later, I delivered Paige in the hospital with a midwife instead of an OB/GYN.  This was the early 90s and when people found out I was using a midwife, there was much wringing of hands; they all seemed to assume we were going to wander off into the woods where I would eventually give birth.  Instead, she was born after about 2-1/2 or 3 hours of labor.  NO PAIN MEDICINE.  I am still proud of that, as silly as it is.
  4. In high school, most of my lunches (eaten at home – I lived close enough to walk home and back, and we had an open campus back in the late 70s) consisted of a can of Chef Boyardee Beef Ravioli and a Hostess chocolate cupcake.  (As a side note, that’s the only time I would ever eat beef ravioli … otherwise it was cheese ravioli, hands down.)  Even with my appalling diet, I barely weighed 100 pounds.  (NOT FAIR, my old slow-metabolism self says to my clueless young self.)
    My lunch date of choice in high school.  YUM.
    My lunch date of choice in high school. YUM.
  5. I cut my left thumb when I was young, and after it healed it would no longer bend.  I still have moments when I can’t remember left from right; I surreptitiously try to bend my left thumb just to confirm that yes, that’s my left.
  6. I used to have chameleons as pets when I was a kid.  One of them, Spencer, got lost when I let him out of his cage to wander around my bed and consequently forgot about him.  (I still harbor a lot of guilt over that.  I’m sorry, Spencer!!)  I ended up finding him (alive) about a year later, on the lime green wooden shutters that adorned my bedroom windows.  He had blended in perfectly; who knows how many times I’d looked right at him without noticing?
  7. I had a Barbie case that was given to me by one of my babysitters; she had obviously outgrown it.  She’d written ‘Light My Fire’ on the lid, and it completely baffled and slightly alarmed me.  I was always a little freaked out by fire, taking Fire Prevention Week very seriously (“Come on guys, we have to practice our escape plan!”); when an old house/barn across and down the street from us caught on fire, I was terrified the fire would somehow travel and burn our house down.  It wasn’t until many years later that I realized Light My Fire was a Doors song.  Duh.
  8. I’m completely freaked out by anything to do with eyes being injured, graphic descriptions of someone’s Lasik surgery, etc.  The elementary school boys used to turn their eyelids inside out and I would have to turn away and do deep breathing to keep from passing out.  If we’re watching a medical show and it has anything to do with eyes, I can’t watch.  I can’t even fathom the possibility of having eye surgery and having to BE AWAKE FOR IT (pardon me while I pant and put my head between my legs).
  9. I get nervous if I have to pull up to a drive-up window or close to a building of any kind.  When I was first driving, I pulled my Olds Cutlass Supreme (I think it was a ’76, I can’t remember) up to the bank drive-through.  I got too close to the building, scraping my car along the brick.  I was mortified but tried to play it off like it was no big deal, I planned to do it.  The teller, a young guy, was laughing his ass off.  Finally he clicked his microphone on and said, “Uh, I think you’re missing something there.”  The trim on the side of my car had come off and was hanging there, waving in the breeze.  I coolly thanked him, finished my transaction and drove off with my dangling trim, cheeks burning red with embarrassment.
  10. I love documentaries.  I know most people think they’re boring or stuffy, but I find it endlessly fascinating to learn about a person or event or talent in great detail.  I mean, how could you not find ‘Spellbound’ fascinating?!  I’m the same way with reading – I read more nonfiction than fiction.
  11. I can’t do that thing where you put your fingers in your mouth and whistle through them (or around them?) – I’ve tried and I just don’t get it.  Nothing happens.  I think it’s really cool though, and a great way to get someone’s attention … what an awesome thing to be able to do!
  12. I’ve never broken a bone.  I don’t know if this is because I’ve just been lucky or because I’m not adventurous enough, but I’m not complaining.
  13. I’ve never had a tooth pulled.  I did have all my wisdom teeth removed, but they were impacted (may I just say … OW) and they were removed via oral surgery (the first surgery I ever had).  I’ve had fillings done, but never anything else … no root canals, crowns, basic extractions.  Never had braces.  And, I’m ashamed to admit, I’m VERY overdue for a cleaning.  Partly because we have no dental insurance and I know it will be expensive since I’m due for X-rays, and partly because sometimes it HURTS.  They hit these sensitive areas and scrape away and I’m clawing the chair and thinking, ‘I’m literally in hell, this is awful.’  So I keep putting it off.  I’ll probably go in January though.  Maybe.
  14. I kept my very first speeding ticket.  (Not that I got that many of them, but this was the first.)  It’s in there with the rest of my junior year report cards and memorabilia from 1981, so faded that most of the writing is illegible.  I still remember how it happened:  I was driving on Lake Street with friends, and a Pat Benatar song came on the radio.  I accelerated once, to match the beat of the song, and I got pulled over for doing 45 in a 35 MPH zone.  It cost me a mere $35; I was too scared to go to court and try to fight it.  Instead I had to endure the embarrassment of having staple holes on my driver’s license until it was time to get a new license; that was what they did back then when you got a ticket.  I never accelerated to the beat of a song after that.
About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on November 14, 2013, in Memory Lane, Not Related to Hearing Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

