Welcome, December

Last night I was explaining to Dave what Elf on the Shelf is.  I see it mentioned a lot, enough so that I’ve figured out the whole deal even though our kids are grown and out of the house.  After I finished talking, I sighed.  “I would have rocked the whole Elf on the Shelf thing with the kids.  I wish it had been around when they were little!”  Dave was grinning and nodding; I think he would have had even more fun with it than I would.

That’s the hard part about establishing solid holiday traditions; when the kids move out and move on with their lives, so many of the traditions just stop.  It’s like a little slap of empty nest syndrome every Christmas.

I’ve talked before about our advent calendar traditions; I always had three advent calendars.  That way each kid could do an advent calendar every day, and they alternated days on the third one.  All of our Christmas decorations are up now (except the outside) and I did bring out the advent Christmas tree decoration.  Dave and I are taking turns with it; it’s got drawers with little ornaments inside, and every day you open a drawer, discover the ornament and put it on the tree.

Our advent tree decoration

Our advent tree decoration

I always asked to see what ornament they got for the day.  Paige liked to tease me and  try to sneak the ornament on the tree without showing me, the little scamp.  🙂

On a whim, I grabbed a couple of those chocolate advent calendars for the kids, so I could surprise them on Thanksgiving.  You know the kind – they’re cardboard, and behind each door is a tiny piece of candy.  I presented it to Eric with a flourish and he looked kind of stricken.  “I thought you might get a kick out of this,” I explained.  “Since we can’t do advent calendars anymore, you can do this one at home.”

“OH!”  He exhaled with relief.  “I thought you meant it was for us to do here and I was kinda like, ‘Uh, that’s not really possible’.”  When I realized he thought I expected him to travel here from Chicago every day to do an advent calendar, I got the giggles.  I might have a hard time letting go, but I’m not that bad.

Last year I did Holidailies, where I posted every day for the month of December.  I don’t think I can commit to that again this year but I’ll try to pop in more than usual.  Happy start of December!

About wendiwendy

I'm a real-life bionic woman.

Posted on December 1, 2013, in Family, Not Related to Hearing Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

