Here Comes Speed Racer

I read the email subject line in confusion. “You’re the Top Vaseline Badge Holder from the J’Adore VoxBox”!” What? I read it again as it slowly sunk in that the email was from Influenster and it was in reference to the box of samples I’d received in February, what they called the J’Adore VoxBox.

In exchange for the free samples, all you really have to do is acknowledge that you received the box, and fill out an exit survey when the program ends. In between, though, you can do all kinds of things to win prizes from the sponsors of the sample box. You can review the items, post photos to Twitter and Instagram, ‘like’ the brands on Facebook, create Pinterest boards and Youtube videos, you name it.

Each brand had different tasks you could complete, if you wanted to. If you completed all the extra tasks, you earned a badge from the brand. I couldn’t complete some of the badges because I don’t use some of the apps/websites that were required. I don’t, for instance, have Instagram on my phone because it’s got no memory whatsoever and I can’t put more than one or two apps on it. (I have four on there right now and I have an ever-present ‘Low on Storage Space’ warning that drives me crazy. I can’t wait to upgrade when this contract is up at the end of July!) I don’t do videos of any kind, so if the badge required you to make a Vine or Youtube video, it just wasn’t happening.

Some of the badges were within reach, though, and I completed the tasks even though I never expected to win anything. The badge referenced in the email was for Vaseline Men’s Spray Lotion, which was actually an item for Dave. It’s good stuff, and I was already using Vaseline lotion for myself (it’s one of the few that I don’t feel like I need to wipe off after I use it – it sinks in without feeling greasy). I had no qualms giving it good reviews, and Dave really liked it as well.

So the sample box program had ended, and I never heard anything from any of the brands for which I’d completed a badge. ‘Ah well,’ I thought, ‘It was fun and I’m not surprised I didn’t win.’ I mean, there are thousands of people who get this box and participate in the extra activities. That’s why I had to read this email three times to realize it was not a joke:

“We’re pleased to announce that you’re the top Vaseline Men Spray Badge holder from the J’Adore VoxBox! To thank you for your participation, Vaseline is sending you on a high-thrill ride in a real NASCAR race car in a timed racing session!  You will also be receiving a bottle of Vaseline® Men Spray Lotion Fast Absorbing and a bottle of Vaseline® Men Spray Lotion Fast Cooling.”

After I accepted that this was for real, I started to panic a little. “Hey hon,” I called to Dave. “Can you come here and read this?” Dave read the email and looked at me in silent confusion. “Um, I don’t know if I want to do this,” I started to fret. “I don’t think I want to drive a race car!”

Now I was just nervous. I mean, what the hell?! I never expected to win the grand prize for this badge; I thought I might be one of the people who won a free bottle of lotion, maybe. I didn’t even really believe that people actually won the grand prizes of these contests, to be honest.

I am not somebody who is impulsive, who likes to do things on the spur of the moment. I like to plan everything out and worry about every little thing that could possibly go wrong. After I had my moment of fear, I started thinking about it some more. I mean, I don’t watch car racing but it goes without saying that the car would be going really fast, which is something I’ve never experienced. It could be kind of cool, you know? I kept re-reading the email and realized it said I won a RIDE in a race car, not that I would be driving it, so that calmed me down. (I was really scared when I imagined driving the car, to be honest.)

The email finished off just by asking me to confirm my address if it had changed. That leads me to believe that the package is going to be mailed to me. Originally I was thinking it would be this BIG DEAL, like they’d be flying me to some racetrack and taking my picture and using it for promotional purposes. None of that is mentioned though, and I would think they’d tell me if the NASCAR track is somewhere far away. I suspect it’s going to be a voucher to be used at a track (they have a bunch of them across the US) that I can redeem for a free ride.

I know it’s crazy to be scared of winning a grand prize, but I was seriously unsettled when I thought I’d have to fly somewhere alone (something I just will NOT DO anymore) and drive a race car. I know it’s an awesome prize, but for a scaredy-pants like me it was just terrifying. It’s kind of embarrassing to admit, but there it is.

So we’ll see – I’m betting on the voucher/coupon thing, to be redeemed at my leisure. If that’s the case, my only worry is whether I can wear the helmet over my two CI processors. (I definitely don’t want to be without my hearing in that circumstance!)

Now that the shock has worn off, I have to admit I’m just a little bit excited. What better way to force myself to try new things? Imagine me, flying around a race track! (Just be glad I’ll be in the passenger seat.)

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on April 18, 2014, in Not Related to Hearing Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! I look forward to the update where you tell us all how it was driving a RACE CAR! Also, where that place is located because I love driving fast but can’t because laws and kids and responsibility.

    Like

  2. Congrats!!!

    Like

  1. Pingback: February: Chicks and Chocolate | Sudden Silence

Leave a Reply

