Reason 5,991,580 Why I Love My Husband

Like many areas around the US right now, Michigan is in the middle of a cold snap. It got down to nine degrees F last night, it’s a generous 13 degrees right now, and our high is predicted only to be 19 degrees.

Last night Dave and I were talking over our plans for today, New Years Eve. We’re making chicken rice burritos but I also needed to fit my shower into the schedule, and I was trying to plan it so that I would have my ‘ears’ on (it makes it easier when we’re cooking together if I can hear him).

“I really dread taking a shower tomorrow,” I sighed. “Normally I would just take it as soon as I wake up, but the bathroom is the coldest room in the house!” I knew with the extra-cold overnight temperature, and the fact that two of the bathroom walls are exterior, it would be even colder than usual. On top of that, the heat register in the bathroom is the furthest one from the furnace and the air that comes out of it is not nearly as warm as the registers in other parts of the house.

“Here’s what happens when I take a shower,” I went on. “I finish up by rinsing the conditioner out of my hair, then turn off the water. While I’m standing there, wet and cold, I put on leave-in conditioner and rake it through. Then I use some kind of curl cream and rake that through. Then I flip my head upside down to finish with some more curl cream, scrunch my hair and put it in a flour sack towel. So I’m standing there for about five minutes, wet and freezing my ass off, while I do all this stuff.” I made a face, shrugged, and said, “Oh well, it is what it is.”

This morning I woke up to a beautiful sunrise. I love looking out the window in our bedroom and seeing all the trees lit up from the sun. Dave was already up. Maxie jumped onto the bed with me and settled in against my hip. I petted her and pointed out the beautiful view, but I think she was more interested in the birds feeding outside on the deck.

Then Dave came into the room, wearing his coat. I waved at him and put on my glasses so I could read his lips. “You’re up and about already!” I marveled.

“Yes! I bought you a heater!”

“What?”

“A little heater like we talked about.” I had jokingly mentioned that it would be great to have a fireplace in the bathroom; then Dave mentioned a small heater, which I had assumed would be too expensive.

You guys. He went out early this morning and bought a little ceramic heater for the bathroom, for less than $20! It works perfectly. He had set it up to test it out, so when I got up he took me into the bathroom for a demonstration. Not only was the room warm, it made the rest of the house feel cold when I walked back out.

We won’t use it all the time, of course – just for showers, mainly. But my gosh, what a massive difference it makes.

Even better, the car started right up this morning. She’s been fine lately but the mornings haven’t been that cold … so now we know she’s fixed. My clever husband did what three car mechanics couldn’t manage to do.

Of course, I’d love him even if he couldn’t fix cars – that’s just one of the many perks of being married to him. But his thoughtful, kind nature – that’s reason #5,991,580 why I love him.

On my 50th birthday - Aug. 28, 2014

On my 50th birthday – Aug. 28, 2014

Happy New Year! See you in 2015!

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. This warms my heart (no pun intended) … I love that you guys are so happy! Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Hi Wendy, wishing a Happy New Year to you and Dave! i love reading your blog, it’s wonderful — and your writing is a pleasure.
    all my best,
    Perri

    Like

  3. Hi Wendy. I just happened to find your blog through Holidailies today. I was drawn in by your wanting to do a 5k in 2015. It is a reachable goal! I ran my first last year and it was a wonderful sense of accomplishment. And winter running is fun! My mantra is “at least I am out here.” Good luck. Hope the cold snap is short and any lake effect snow. I know exactly what you are talking about, getting mine off Lake Ontario here in western, NY.. I am not sure where in Michigan you are but I was in Grand Rapids and Holland this summer, nice places. Look forward to reading more previous posts.
    Happy New Year!
    Fawn

    Like

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement and nice words, Fawn! 🙂

      We are in far southwest Michigan, right above South Bend, Indiana and about 30 minutes east of Lake Michigan. Grand Rapids and Holland are two of the places we want to visit in 2015.

      Happy New Year!

      Like

  4. He’s a keeper, for sure! So thoughtful 🙂

    Like

  5. Aw, how sweet! I hate being cold when I get out of the shower also. Although, I am in Louisiana so our winters are nothing compared to yours!

    Like

  6. Just noticed your birthday.. we are almost birthday twins.. my is Aug. 30th.. smile..

    Like

Leave a Reply

