Reviews: Pretty Lingerie for Real People; XO VoxBox

I mentioned a little while back that I was getting a free set of lingerie from a website called Adore Me, courtesy of Influenster. I got the set before Valentine’s Day (it arrived really quickly) and I like it so much that I’m giving it a review.

To be honest, when I saw that this was part of my XO VoxBox, I wasn’t sure I would even redeem it. I don’t think of myself as lingerie-worthy, I guess. I used to get all my bras and underwear from Victoria’s Secret, not because I was trying to be oooh sexy but just because I liked the way they fit, and I could get good deals during their annual sale. After a while though, I became disenchanted. The bras were starting to dig into my side, and they changed the waistband on the underwear that were my favorite (Second Skin Satin). I can’t stand a waistband that digs into my skin, and it used to just be smooth and not squeezy. Then they changed it to a thin piece of elastic and ugh, I had to fold it over to keep that elastic from leaving marks on my skin. Eventually I just stopped ordering from them; I figured maybe I was aging out of their ideal demographic.

So I figured Adore Me would be much of the same. I mean, let’s face it – I’m more into comfort than looking sexy over here. I don’t parade around in my underwear, and I’m not interested in wearing a piece of string between my butt cheeks. I find it really hard to find a bra that fits comfortably, maybe because I’m so short. They all seem so wide, and they dig into my rib cage and side. I glanced at the site and I was just like, yeah … this is not me. This is for the cute, super-skinny young ladies who can pull off these styles.

But, you know, it’s free. So I kept looking around, entered my information and registered for the site. One nice thing I noticed right off the bat is that you get a ‘showroom’ that features items in your bra size. I thought they did a pretty good job with my showroom, based on the answers I gave when I registered. I did like a lot of the styles.

I settled on a pink t-shirt demi bra set called Shea Contour, hoping it would be a better fit for my apparently short torso. It came with either a thong (no thank you) or a bikini. I would have preferred something with more coverage – I’m a hi-cut brief kind of gal – but I was pleasantly surprised by this bikini. It does feel like I’m not even wearing anything compared to my usual underwear, but they are comfortable and the waistband doesn’t squeeze. I did size up on the underwear, to make sure there would be enough fabric to cover my butt. I’d definitely do that again – they are a size bigger than my pants size, and fit fine.

Shea Contour set from Adore Me, which I adore

Shea Contour set from Adore Me, which I adore

The bra – wow. The bra is what sold me. The fabric is soft and comfortable, the cups are padded but not crazily so (I’d call it light padding), the lace is beautiful (it’s also on the back, which you can’t see in the photo) and it does not scratch at all. Usually it takes a few times wearing it for a bra to feel comfortable, but this one felt great all day long from the first day I wore it. The proportion is great for my body, and it is just so pretty. Yes, I got it for free but I would have been happy to pay for it!

If you want to see what it looks like on a pretty girl:  Shea Contour

I signed up for their VIP membership, which means I get a showroom every month (and discounts as well, plus every sixth set for free). It’s free to join; then you just check out your showroom between the first and fifth of each month to see your new offerings. If you like something, grab it before it’s gone. If you don’t, or if your budget is tight that month, click the ‘skip this month’ button and you’re done. I wasn’t sure I’d keep the membership before I got my order, but now I am definitely keeping it. It’s a big deal for me to find a comfortable bra, can you tell?!

This is a referral link, if you want to check out the site and get your first set for just $25:  Adore Me signup

I still don’t parade around in my underwear, but now I walk around feeling extra pretty knowing it’s there under my yoga pants and flannel shirt.

Update:  My XO VoxBox is here!  I put up a board on Pinterest so you can see all the goodies.  My favorite item is definitely the Adore Me lingerie.  My least favorite is the Lands’ End discount.  I absolutely love Lands’ End and was excited when I found out they were part of the box.  The discount, though, is $25 off $100.  I will never spend that much money right now, it’s just not in my budget.  Oh well.

The John Frieda Frizz Ease Beyond Smooth hair products are fantastic.  They are silicone-free, smell great, and really help tame my frizzies.  The SkinFix lotion is a little greasy for my taste, but I actually love it on my legs after I shower.  (I just prefer my hand cream to be absorbed better.)

We already use and love Tide laundry detergent, but had never tried the pods with Febreze.  Big thumbs up from up — they smell great and our clothes really get clean.

All in all, this was a fantastic box of samples.  If you haven’t tried Influenster yet, you should check them out!

* The usual disclaimer: “I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.”

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on February 21, 2015, in Not Related to Hearing Loss, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

