(Nearly) Ten Years of Deafness

I haven’t posted in forever so I’m sure nobody’s reading this anymore, but for the first time in ages I actually have cochlear implant-related news.  In April 2018 it will be ten years since I went deaf (and ten years since I started this blog, geez).  I can remember getting my cochlear implants and thinking they were all I ever needed – I couldn’t imagine needing to upgrade. But ten years on, and I’m down to one headpiece that functions well, one that is okay for the most part, one that doesn’t work at all and one that cuts out every time I smile, turn my head, etc. (the cord is frayed and loses connection).  I think the only functioning T-mics I have are the ones on my two processors; the backups long since stopped working. And I received a letter from Advanced Bionics this spring telling me that my Harmony processors are now obsolete and no longer covered. When I called last year to get a replacement headpiece, I was told they don’t make that style anymore and I should really upgrade.

“Oh, I’ll wait until we move,” I said. “I want to see how our finances look at that point.” I had no idea how expensive it would be to upgrade, and it made me nervous. A house was more important to me than hearing at that point.

So now we have a house. (Yes! We bought a house in June, in Michigan. I really need to start writing here again.) My headpieces really started acting up, so I contacted Advanced Bionics with my long list of questions.  And I’m shocked to say that less than a month later, I’ve been notified that my insurance approved the upgrade, they are accepting my two backup processors as a trade-in to cover the 20% balance I owed (which leaves a big fat ZERO due) and my new processors are being shipped to me today!

I also had to find a new clinic since I haven’t been mapped since I lived in Illinois, so I’ll be going to Western Michigan University to have these babies activated and mapped. I can’t even tell you all the new features I’ll have – I’m getting the Advanced Bionics Naida Q90 in ruby red – so I have some learnin’ to do.

Advanced Bionics CI Q90

Isn’t she pretty?!

But I’m pretty sure I can listen to music wirelessly with the ComPilot (which I’ll wear around my neck) and Bluetooth technology. I used to have to hook all these wires up to have the music go right into my CIs, so I’m really excited about this!

What a difference (almost) ten years makes.  I’m still reeling.

About wendiwendy

This was my original info in 2008: I'm a newly-deafened adult. I'm still getting used to the sudden silence, and I want to talk in the only manner where I can still hear my voice...in print. Now: I'm a bionic woman and I can hear myself roar!!

Posted on November 8, 2017, in Cochlear Implants & Hearing Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I want you to know that I have been reading your blog I found it last summer so please do keep posting! I have always been hard of hearing most my life since I was a baby. MY Db level was at about 40 dB. So I have all my speech as my hearing loss back then was mild. I am now at 90 dB. Profoundly deaf. Been considering implants for a long time now. Had an audiologist tell me he thought I’d be a good candidate. I too am from Illinois. Graduated Illinois school for the Deaf. My email is mmrennau@yahoo.com if you ever have time for a chat please feel free to hit me up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you’re still reading — thank you for commenting! I suspect you’ll know when the time is right for CIs, but it’s a definite plus to know an audiologist feels it’s an option for you. 🙂 I’ll try to be more active here!

      Like

  2. Pretty color! My son loves listening to the iPad or phone with Bluetooth and every compilot. I am so happy for you that you will get all new working stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wendy – this is beyond exciting, and I know you will love the Q90s. Ruby Red? Yes, indeed. You will rock it

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Me read Every Single Time you post. Me write me because this phone won’t let me print I️ other than like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

