Little Things

I made lemon scones a few weeks ago. When I went to bake one (I make and then freeze them, and then bake them from frozen when I have a craving), I searched the refrigerator for lemon glaze. I was pretty sure I’d made some for something else a while back, and I wanted to set the container on my stove top so the heat from the oven could warm the glaze.

I found the container pretty quickly, and then stood there holding it, staring at the lid. “Lemon glaze,” written in Sharpie on a piece of masking tape, in Dave’s handwriting.

This is the kind of thing that is hardest for me as I work through my grief. The big things, the holidays and birthdays and such, are hard, but you have some warning and can try to prepare for them. These little things, like seeing his handwriting, are what make my breath catch in my throat and my eyes well up.

(As an aside, I always loved Dave’s handwriting. I was very into pen pals from my youth until the late 90s, and because of that I really noticed and appreciated handwriting. One of the first things I told Dave after we met in person was how much I liked his writing.)

Then yesterday, I was out running errands and stopped to fill the car tank with gas. Out of nowhere, I remembered that the day I took Dave to the ER (which was the start of his last hospitalization that led to his death) he insisted that I stop first and put gas in the car. I’d completely forgotten about this.

He had asked me to take him to the ER because he got up from the couch and immediately started to fall. He made it to the kitchen table but was weak and woozy. I wasn’t even sure I could get him to the car, but somehow we did it. So when he insisted that I gas up the car, which had a half tank of gas already, I argued with him. I mean, I wanted to get to the hospital as fast as possible. But he insisted. Although it’s not like I don’t know how to put gas in a car tank, he had been the only one doing it for many years at this point and he had such a strong instinct to take care of me, even when he was so sick. He wanted to talk me through it, in case I had questions. And then he added, “And this way you’ll have enough gas to make at least five trips.”

I didn’t ask him to elaborate, but I wondered about it at the time. Five trips? To and from the hospital? I was really thinking we would go, they would give him an IV because he was probably dehydrated, and we would come home. I wonder now if he knew he’d be admitted, and figured he’d be in there for a number of days and I’d be going back and forth from home to the hospital.

So I relented, because he was really serious about this. I put gas in the car. And I did make exactly another five trips back and forth from the hospital to home before he died.

Even a little thing like a trip to the gas station can be emotional right now. I can accept that. It’s learning to sit with those emotions and not avoid them that’s the hard part.

About wendiwendy

I'm a real-life bionic woman.

Posted on February 22, 2022, in Grief/Bereavement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much, Shari! Yes, I find writing to be the most helpful thing right now. Always keeping my eyes open for group opportunities too, whether for grief or just other activities I’m interested in. Taking it one step at a time! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sending you so much love. Thank you for sharing these beautiful, heartbreaking moments and memories with us. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh my friend, I can relate from losing Manda. The little things are like a lightening bolt out of the blue, totally unexpected so you’re unprepared. Yesterday, a cousin’s daughter turned 13 and they went to Hot Topic. There were two pictures on the birthday post, one of Mom and daughter and then one of daughter dressed in an outfit so much like Manda would have worn at that age. Brought back memories of the numerous shopping trips to Hot Topic which was one of Manda’s favorite stores during her Goth period. On the one hand so thankful for the memories but on the other hand still angry that there aren’t more than 22 years of memories. 💔. I believe that I’m about the only one that still has my husband from the ladies I met on Blue Faery when Jimmy was first diagnosed. Heartbreaking how quickly liver cancer can leave you with only memories. Hang in there sweetie, stay strong and that unexpected memory slaps you in the face, take a deep breath and remember the love behind the memory. ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness, Sharon – wish I could give you a hug. Yes – the memories are wonderful and then also you think, But I don’t want to just have memories. I want them back! So it’s a catch-22.

      I spent many a day shopping in Hot Topic too – the goth period seems to be ubiquitous! Thank you for always understanding and being there, my friend. Love to you ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. *TEARS*
    I can do see me reacting to handwriting and remembering last “take care of Denise” errands sticking with me a long time.

    I love Dave loved you this way Wendy.

    By the way I love all things lemon.

    Love and hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Someday we will get together and share a lemon treat of some kind, Denise! I like the way you put this, that Dave loved me this way. Yes! He was more the type to do things to show his love vs “getting gooshy” (his term). Love you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh Wendi. 😥 Sending you much love and big hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Please keep writing. Its therapeutic for you but it also is a pleasure for many of us to read. I think it is good that you process each of these moments as they happen. Hugs to you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wendi, thank you for allowing me to share in your life. It gives me pause thinking about the “what ifs” in my or my wife’s life. Also, I envy your writing skills! Again – thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment